September 25, 2021

President of India, eligibility, power, list of Presidents of India

The President of India is the head of state of India and the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces. The President is referred to as the first citizen of India. The president is indirectly elected by an electoral college comprising the Parliament of India (both houses) and the legislative assemblies of each of India’s states and territories, who themselves are all directly elected. The eligibility and power of the President along with Oath & Resignation and list of Presidents is given below.

List of Presidents of India

S No. Name Tenure Notes


Dr. Rajendra Prasad
26 January 1950 to 13 May 1962
First President, Longest-serving President
Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
13 May 1962 to 13 May 1967
First President from South India
Dr Zakir Husain
13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969
Shortest-serving President, First President to die in office
Varahagiri Venkata Giri
3 May 1969 to 20 July 1969
First acting President of India
Mohammad Hidayatullah
20 July 1969 to 24 August 1969
Served as the Chief Justice of India
Varahagiri Venkata Giri
24 August 1969 to 24 August 1974
First-person to serve as both acting President and President of India
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977
Second President to die in office
Basappa Danappa Jatti
11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977
Served as acting President upon Ahmed’s death.
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982
Youngest to become President – 64 years
Giani Zail Singh
25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987
First Sikh President
Ramaswamy Venkataraman
25 July 1987 to 25 July 1992
Served as Minister of Finance and Industry And Minister of Defence.
Shankar Dayal Sharma
25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997
He was CM of Madhya Pradesh
Kocheril Raman Narayanan
25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002
First Dalit President
Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam
25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007
He was popularly known as “People’s President”
Pratibha Patil
25 July 2007 to 25 July 2012
First woman to become the President of India.
Pranab Mukherjee
25 July 2012 to 25 July 2017
Held various posts in Cabinet Ministry for GOI such as FM, Foreign Minister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission.
Ram Nath Kovind
25 July 2017--Incumbent
14th President of India


A president must be:       

– a citizen of India

– of 35 years of age or above

– qualified to become a member of the Lok Sabha

– Must not hold any office of profit under the Government of India or the Government of any State or  any local or other authority subject to the Control of any of the said Governments.

– A member of parliament or a State Legislature can seek election to the office of the president but if he is elected as president, he shall be deemed to have vacated his seat in parliament or State Legislature on the date on which he enters upon his office as President.


Oath and Resignation





Chief Justice of India

Vice President

V. President




Chief Justice of High Court


Chief Justice of India



Prime Minister



Speaker, Lok Sabha

No oath

Deputy Speaker

Powers of President

– The President has the power to appoint and remove various high dignitaries including

  • The Attorney-General
  • The Comptroller and Auditor General.
  • The Chief Justice and other judges of the Supreme Court of India and state/union territory high courts.
  • The Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners of India.
  • The Chairman and other Members of the Union Public Service Commission.
  • Officers of the All India Services (IAS, IPS, and IFoS), and other Central Civil Services in Group ‘A’.
  • Indian Ambassadors and other diplomats.   

– The president is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Armed Forces, but the Parliament can regulate or control the exercise of such power.

– All international treaties and agreements are negotiated and concluded on behalf of the president. Usually, such negotiations are carried out by PM along with his Cabinet.

– Also, such treaties are subject to the approval of the parliament.

– President has the power to summon or prorogue the House of Parliament and to dissolve the Lok Sabha.

– He has the power to summon a joint sitting of both houses of Parliament in case of a deadlock between them.

– The President nominates 12 members from persons having special knowledge or practical experience of literature, science, art, and social service.

– A Bill becomes an Act of Indian Parliament only after it receives the assent of the President.

– President, as well as the Governors, possess the power to grant pardon.

– The President has Extraordinary powers to deal with a situation of emergency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *