September 25, 2021

List of Indian Prime Minister with eligibility, work

The Prime Minister of India is the head of the government, who is also the leader of his party or/and of a coalition of parties in Parliament. In a parliamentary system of government, the PM occupies a unique position as the most powerful functionary who controls both the Parliament and the executive. The President appoints him and other ministers are appointed and/or dismissed by the advice of the PM. The eligibility of the Prime Minister and his role is given below.

S No. Name Period


Jawaharlal Nehru
15-Aug-1947 to 27-May-1964
16 years, 286 days
Gulzarilal Nanda
27-May-1964 to 9 June 1964
13 days
Lal Bahadur Shastri
09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966
1 year, 216 days
Gulzarilal Nanda
11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966
13 days
Indira Gandhi
24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977
11 years, 59 days
Morarji Desai
24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979
2 years, 126 days
Charan Singh
28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980
170 days
Indira Gandhi
14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984
4 years, 291 days
Rajiv Gandhi
31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989
5 years, 32 days
Vishwanath Pratap Singh
02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990
343 days
Chandra Shekhar
10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991
223 days
P. V. Narasimha Rao
21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996
4 years, 330 days
Atal Bihari Vajpayee
16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996
16 days
H. D. Deve Gowda
01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997
324 days
Inder Kumar Gujral
21st April 1997- 19th March 1998
332 days
Atal Bihari Vajpayee
19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004
6 years, 64 days
Dr. Manmohan Singh
22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014
10 years, 4 days
Narendra Modi
26-May-2014 to Incumbent


A Prime Minister must:

  • be a citizen of India.
  • be a member of the Lok Sabha or the Rajya Sabha.
  • be above 25 years of age if they are a member of the Lok Sabha, or, above 30 years of age if they are a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • not hold any office of profit under the government of India or the government of any state or under any local or other authority subject to the control of any of the said governments.

Other important points-

– The Prime Minister is usually always in charge/head of some specific ministries/department, they are

  • Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions 
  • Cabinet Secretariat
  • Appointments Committee of the Cabinet
  • Cabinet Committee on Security
  • Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs
  • NITI Aayog
  • Department of Atomic Energy
  • Department of Space
  • Nuclear Command Authority

– The PM allots work among the ministers and can change their portfolios at will.

– The PM is the channel of communication between the Council of Ministers and the President.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *