October 23, 2021

EWS Full-Form | What is EWS? | Eligibility for EWS Certificate

EWS - Economically Weaker Section

EWS stands for Economically Weaker Section. The term is used for families or people who fall under a fixed income limit set by the government. Recently, a very beneficial scheme has been released by the government under which people belonging to economically weaker sections and are in unreserved/general category will get 10% reserved quota in Central / State Government Jobs and Education.

The demand of the general class citizens to implement the reservation system on the basis of a long-standing economic basis has been implemented by the central government. Now, along with ST, SC, and OBC citizens in the country, citizens of the general category can also avail reservation. Some rules and regulations have been enacted by the government to provide reservation to the general class.

To avail the benefits of reservation the government has made arrangements for issuing EWS Certificate to check the eligibility of all the economically weaker citizens of the general category and provide benefits to them. Through EWS Certificate, all eligible citizens can avail the benefit of the reservation system.

Eligibility to get EWS Certificate -

There are certain criteria set by which will determine whether you are entitled to be classified under EWS, they are given below

> Applicant should be a General Candidate – This 10% EWS Quota has been reserved only for UR / General Category person. Only General Candidates can apply for it and can take advantage of it.

> Family Income should be less than Rs. 8 lakh – All those people will be considered eligible for reservation of EWS, whose entire family’s annual income is less than Rs. 8 lakh. Under this, Family Income means – all the sources of income in the family such as profession, agriculture, business, salary, etc.

The term “Family” mentioned above includes-

  • Your own income
  • Parental income
  • The income of your siblings whose age is below 18 years
  • As well as your spouse’s income
  • The income of your children whose age is below 18 years.

Combining all these, if your family’s annual income is less than 8 Lakh, then you will be eligible for an EWS reservation.

> The family’s Agricultural Land Area should be less than 5 Acres – To get the Reservation benefit of Economically Weaker Sections, your family must have an agricultural land of less than 5 Acres. If the size of the agricultural land coming under your family’s property is more than 5 Acres, then you will not be considered eligible for it.

> The Family’s Residential Flat Area should be less than 1000 sq. ft. – To be classified under EWS Quota, the area of your family’s Residential Flat should not be 1000 sq. ft or more.

> The family’s Residential Plot Area should be less than 100 sq. yards (in Notified Municipalities) – To avail this 10% reservation, 100 sq. yards (i.e. 900 sq.ft.) Area of Residential Plot under notified municipalities in your family property.

> The Family’s Residential Plot Area should be less than 200 sq. yards (Other than the notified municipalities) – If the area of Residential Plot (other than in notified municipalities) under your family property is less than 200 sq. yards i.e. 1800 sq. ft, then you will be able to get this reservation letter.

For the land or property holding test to determine EWS status, all the family property in different locations or different places/cities would be clubbed together.

Documents Required for EWS Certificate -

  • Aadhaar Card 
  • Income Certificate
  • Pan Card 
  • Caste certificate
  • BPL Card
  • Bank statement
  • Recent Passport size photo
  • Other relevant documents

The documents mentioned above vary from state to state as per their rules. So applicants are advised to visit the EWS certificate issuing authority and collect relative information.

EWS Certificate Issuing Authority -

Before applying for an EWS certificate verify whether 10% EWS Reservation has been implemented in your state or not. There are many states where this General Reservation has not been implemented yet. Following are the income and asset certificate-issuing authority

  • District Magistrate / Additional District Magistrate / Collector / Deputy Commissioner / Additional Deputy Commissioner / 1st Class Stipendary Magistrate / Sub-Divisional Magistrate / Taluka Magistrate / Executive Magistrate / Extra Assistant Commissioner
  • Chief Presidency Magistrate / Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate / Presidency Magistrate.
  • Revenue Officer not below the rank of Tehsildar
  • Sub-Divisional Officer or the area where the candidate and/or his family normally resides.

As you know the government has already reserved 49.5% seats for the upliftment of the lower class or economically weaker (SC / ST / OBC) people in India. Now with this new 10% Reservation, people of the general category coming in all those Economically Weaker Sections will get benefits in Education and Jobs. Like SC / ST and OBC students, a separate cut-off will also be for those who fall in this EWS category.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *